BGA strives to provide quality patient care and excellent physician services. We participate in a wide variety of insurance plans and appreciate the opportunity to care for your patients. The physicians at Birmingham Gastroenterology Associates are appreciative of any opportunity to assist in the care of our colleagues’ patients. We are prepared to receive physician referrals via EPHI and Direct Messaging if you would like to provide them electronically. If you elect to send a referral via EPHI, the following information is appreciated to ensure we can care for your patient as quickly as possible:

• Office Note (last 2 visits)
• Medications
• Allergies
• Labs (last 2 visits)
• Diagnostics (last 2 visits)
• Family History
• Demographics
• Problem List
• Height/Weight

Physician Offices may also schedule an office visit or procedure via phone or fax:

  • Please call 205-271-8000 and press option 2. Schedulers are available Monday-Friday 8:30-5:00.
  • Or Our referral form and fax it to us at 205-329-7444

Use your EHR’s Direct Messaging function to send us referrals, Summaries of Care, and other patient updates. You can send referrals and care updates to a specific provider using their individual Direct Messaging address or send something to the practice by using the practice DM address: direct@bgapc.allscriptsdirect.net.

Physician Name Physician’s Direct Address (request from EHR)
Rishi Agarwal, MD rishiagarwal@bgapc.allscriptsdirect.net
Charles Bluhm, MD charlesbluhm@bgapc.allscriptsdirect.net
Matthew Carnes, MD matthewcarnes@bgapc.allscriptsdirect.net
Joseph Cochran, MD jlynncochran@bgapc.allscriptsdirect.net
Charles Dasher, Jr., MD charlesdasherjr@bgapc.allscriptsdirect.net
David Landy, MD davidlandy@bgapc.allscriptsdirect.net
Owen R. McLean, MD owenmclean@bgapc.allscriptsdirect.net
P. David Miller, MD pdavidmiller@bgapc.allscriptsdirect.net
Rajat Parikh, MD rajatparikh@bgapc.allscriptsdirect.net
H. Craig Philpot, MD hcraigphilpot@bgapc.allscriptsdirect.net
J Cotton Shallcross, MD jcottonshallcross@bgapc.allscriptsdirect.net
Christopher Shaver, MD christophershaver@bgapc.allscriptsdirect.net
Kenneth Sigman, MD kennethsigman@bgapc.allscriptsdirect.net
Jessica Collins, CRNP jessicacollins@bgapc.allscriptsdirect.net
Pam Lolley, CRNP pamlolley@bgapc.allscriptsdirect.net
Emily Patton, CRNP emilypatton@bgapc.allscriptsdirect.net
Katie Plourd, CRNP katieplourd@bgapc.allscriptsdirect.net
Stevie Stewart, PA steviestewart@bgapc.allscriptsdirect.net